How to start contributing as a developer

Hello:
This is my first post. I’m a Java backend developer with some years of experience using JPA and Hibernate (mainly ORM) in several projects. Also, this is my first attempt for contributing in an open source project.
I was just browsing the tickets in JIRA but don’t know what would be an appropriate ticket to work on. What would be a good search criteria for a first-time contributor? bugs, improvements, docs? what version?
Hope someone can give some guidelines. Thanks in advance for your comments.

PS: If this post is better suited for another category, please comment and I’ll change it right away

Its going to be highly subjective based on your experience in various areas of Hibernate ORM.

That said, addressing documentation concerns is likely the easiest area to begin with. Most of the time this involves fixing typos, out-dated information, incorrect examples, or perhaps improving documentation with additional examples that could be useful for users.

After that, bugs and improvements can be a bit subjective. Both do require that you not only understand the change at the impact site but also the snowball effect it could have on other parts of the framework too.

Its best to focus on contributing to master, whatever version that may currently be. The older branches and versions are managed internally by the team and whether a fix is backported depends on a variety of factors. Its just easier for contributors to work in this way and we adapt older versions on an as-needed basis.

So in the end, find a JIRA issue that appeals to you and go for it. If you have questions along the way, don’t hesitate to ask them on the JIRA, the hibernate mailing list, or HipChat. Furthermore, don’t hestitate to submit your PR as you feel it should be implemented. If there are any changes we feel should be made, we’ll let you know so you can make those at your leisure so we can integrate the PR seamlessly.