Generated select contains some fields multiple times

Hello,

I’m not very experienced with hibernate. I have two entities Client and Attribute like following ones:

@Entity
public class Client {
    @Id 
    @Column 
    private UUID id;

@OneToMany(mappedBy = "client", cascade = CascadeType.PERSIST, orphanRemoval = true)
    private final Set<Attribute> attributes = new HashSet<>();
}
@Entity
public class Attribute {
    @Id 
    @Column 
    @GeneratedValue
    private UUID id;

@ManyToOne(fetch = FetchType.LAZY)
    @JoinColumn(name="fk_client")
    private Client client;

@Column
    private String name;

@Nationalized
    @Column
    private String value;
}

There is a bidirectional association between the two. It’s managed by child entity.

I was investigating generated queries by hibernate when attributes collection is initialized in the moment when it’s firstly accessed (I’m aware of n+1 queries issue, but in my use-case I’ll need attributes not for all clients and only in few cases, so it seems default lazy loading is appropriate here) and the query looks like:

select
    attributes0_.fk_client as fk_clien4_1_0_,
    attributes0_.id as id1_1_0_,
    attributes0_.id as id1_1_1_,
    attributes0_.fk_client as fk_clien4_1_1_,
    attributes0_.name as name2_1_1_,
    attributes0_.value as value3_1_1_ 
from
    attribute attributes0_ 
where
    attributes0_.fk_client=?

When i was debugging it it turned out that

• fk_clien4_1_0_ comes from collection key column - AbstractCollectionPersister.keyColumnNames
  • id1_1_0_ comes from collection element column - AbstractCollectionPersister.elementColumnReaderTemplates
  • id1_1_1_, fk_clien4_1_1_, name2_1_1_ and value3_1_1_ comes from AbstractEntityPersister

I was wondering if all fields in the select is really necessary. Is that expected behavior? It seems that fk_client and id is fetched two times unnecessarily.